coyotes/wolves

TLunge
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

coyotes/wolves

Post by TLunge »

is anyone going to try hunting or trapping any yotes or wolves this year? I know the population is very high around the outskirts of Ottawa, I hear them howling almost every night and am seeing lots of tracks in my area.
I'm not a biologist but the recent decline in the high numbers of deer may make for some really good predator hunting this winter
Billy Dee
Participant
Participant

Post by Billy Dee »

I'm very new to hunting and have a lot to learn. Forgive me if this is a stupid question but do hunters eat any wolves/coyotes that they take? If so, what is the meat like?
bardern
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by bardern »

I plan on doing a lot of hunting for coyotes this winter. you are correct that there are a lot of otes around Eastern Ontario and according to all reports the numbers are trending up. There are still a number of hound men but there are more and more of us using calls to lure them into shotgun or rifle range. Ottawa and Greely's problems are that coyotes are incredibly intelligent and adapt quickly to an urban enviroment. Of course you can not hunt within city limits which leaves trapping which is not as effective as hunting plus there are issues surrounding the non-hunting and trapping elements. the coyote number do seem to trend with the deer herd and with the decline in the deer population there will in all likelyhood be more sightings in the city due to availibilty of food that being primarily garbage and pets.

the payoff is the hunt itself and the value in the pelts. the prices for pelts have been low for a number of years but have been going up somewhat.
TLunge
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by TLunge »

I have never heard of anybody ever eating one myself
Billy Dee
Participant
Participant

Post by Billy Dee »

That's what I thought. I imagine it would be like eating a pet dog. Not my cup of tea but in some cultures...