Lucky Me

LeGrand
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Lucky Me

Post by LeGrand »

In QC we have a draw for anterless deer, enabling us to harvest a doe during the black-powder / crosbow season, then in the rifle, shotgun season if we haven't harvested in the first two (archery, blackpowder). During the archery only season, you can harvest what you want.

I've been participating every year for over 12- 15 years, and never came out as a winner. Got a confirmation yesterday, that I am one of the lucky winners. Almost fell on my B_t. Was starting to loose confidence in the Government allocation system, since some of my acquaintances have been winning pretty much every year.

As a non-resident of Ontario, and hunting in Ontario for a couple of years know, I could either not afford (another $180.00), or obtain whatever tags was left over for non-resident in WMU 64-A, which made it sad, cause while posted in my blind(s), I would never see a buck showing-up (except on my TrailCam), but I had to glance and look at the various does coming to my bait site or in the field from my ground blind.

Was fortunate enough four years ago to participate with an Ontario group in a Party Hunt. Even offered to share in the cost of their tags.

Now, its good to know that if I don't harvest during the archery season in QC, then I have a fallback for the rifle season.

8)
moonshine
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by moonshine »

well good for you. our chances in Ontario have dropped this year. the deer numbers have pretty much stayed the same but they have reduced the number of anterless tags.
LeGrand
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by LeGrand »

When it pours it rains.

For the last two years, I have added to my waterfowl hunts the services of an outfitter near Morrisburg. Going again this year (2 day hunt) with same partner from Sherbrooke, QC