Goosin'!!

qcconnection
Participant
Participant

Goosin'!!

Post by qcconnection »

To say that I'm a novice when it comes to waterfowl hunting is an understatement.

I've been hunting ducks now for about 4 years, a couple of mornings a year and have bagged 3.

I always wanted to try goose hunting but could never get all the pieces into play.

A few weeks ago, I was visiting my uncles farm and noticed a pile of geese in a fresh cut oat field. After getting permission from him to hunt there, I got all my gear in line (the 7 goose decoys I own) and set out for the opener last week. Saw some birds flying over, but none came in.

Last night, went back again, as I was told that the night before, " the field was black with them ". However, still no dice.

This morning, I came back. Saw a couple of larger flocks flying off water about 700 yards away but none came my way. Typical me luck I thought. About an hour later, 2 birds came swinging by. Only one made it past me!!

Bagged my first goose.

I can now say, I'm addicted beyond belief.

No, I didn't shoot him with the bow, but thought if I got the chance at one with my Martin that it'd be neat!
banjo
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Re: Goosin'!!

Post by banjo »

Nice work. One in the pot is better than nothing.
fishingcarpenter
Participant
Participant

Post by fishingcarpenter »

Good stuff! I'm on my second year of duck hunting, learned a lot last year and am hoping to put a beat down this year. Goose seems like a lot of fun, they never want to come check out my duck decoys though, but its cool watching the odd one try to pull away from the flock when I start blowing a goose call...
scarkner
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by scarkner »

You never forget your first goose!!!
CBB
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by CBB »

Congrats on 1st goose and I am sure more to follow. Get a good goose call and practice, makes a world of difference.
Out4trout
Gold Participant
Gold Participant