bait caster

Just what the title says....anything and everything related to Rods, Reels, Terminal Tackle, Plastics, what others are using, what works, what doesn't work, and anything else you want to talk about regarding equipment.
bostonwhaler
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

bait caster

Post by bostonwhaler »

I just picked up 3 curado bait casters. they have 5 magnets, seem to be a good reel. I am new to the bait cast world. can anyone tell me why i would want to set the magnets to their drag position? It seems silly to limit your casting distance. I have only been casting with a frog in my yard to practice. Havent seemed to get any birds nests that i hear so much about. any tips/ suggestions would be great
Hollywood catches more perch than me
Wallyboss
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Re: bait caster

Post by Wallyboss »

I suggest that you put 3 magnets out to start. If you remove all of them you'll get birdsnests in the middle of your casts. Start with 3 then down to 2 after lot's of practice. Remember to make sure that the magnets out are balanced. 1 out, 1 in, 1 out, 1 in, 1 out.

Youtube "Baitcasting 101" it'll help a lot.
When hell freezes over, I'll be there icefishing!!!

If you can't stand behind our troops,
Please feel free to stand in front of them!!!

Experience is that marvellous thing that enables you to recognize a mistake when you make it again
biggs
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by biggs »

Wallyboss wrote:1 out, 1 in, 1 out, 1 in, 1 out.
Do this, 3 up and 3 down and follow wallyboss's suggestion. I don't use Shimano baitcasters anymore but at the end of my run with Shimano I was able to go 1 up and 5 down.

FYI.....they are not magnets, they are tabs. Shimano uses a centrifugal brake system not a magnetic one.
bostonwhaler
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by bostonwhaler »