Stringease Fastach clips

Just what the title says....anything and everything related to Rods, Reels, Terminal Tackle, Plastics, what others are using, what works, what doesn't work, and anything else you want to talk about regarding equipment.
Daboss
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Stringease Fastach clips

Post by Daboss »

Started using these this year, have already cast away 2 pricey lures, clip comes back intact but? empty! Too bad, they looked promising. :angry-banghead:

Addendum; lost another lure, the bass flipped, the clip came back empty, and yes I always check the clips integrity before I cast.
Last edited by Daboss on Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Damn right I'm good in the sack...I can sleep for hours!
RJ
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Stringease Fastach clips

Post by RJ »

Not sure what you did wrong as I've been using them for 2 years and have never had any issue at all.

RJ
lape0019
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

Post by lape0019 »

I actually bought these last year after reading about how much RJ liked these. I haven't lost a lure yet and find them harder to use than swivels but they don't seem to affect the lure as much. What were you using them for?

I have used them from crankbaits and jerkbaits mostly.

Adam
Daboss
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by Daboss »

I lost a Mepps spinner with a wire eye, and a large weedless spoon with a soldered eye.
I think it must be the way I cast, the lure doubles back on the clip like the tip of a whip.
Damn right I'm good in the sack...I can sleep for hours!
fiiish
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by fiiish »

Daboss wrote:Started using these this year, have already cast away 2 pricey lures, clip comes back intact but? empty! Too bad, they looked promising. :angry-banghead:
I too use these and I've seen lures fall off twice, luckily both times they fell at my feet.
I noticed it only happened on lures that have a small wire diameter ring.