Rodbuilding stuff Ottawa-Gatineau

Just what the title says....anything and everything related to Rods, Reels, Terminal Tackle, Plastics, what others are using, what works, what doesn't work, and anything else you want to talk about regarding equipment.
kingofbeasts
Participant
Participant

Rodbuilding stuff Ottawa-Gatineau

Post by kingofbeasts »

Hi there,
I’m new to Ottawa (and Canada for that matter) and, since I am also a rod builder, I’m trying to build my self some new jigging rods ( I left my own one-piece jigging rods on the other side of the ocean due to transportation problems related to their length). Can anybody point me to the direction of a store that holds rod building supplies here in Ottawa-Gatineau region? I’m interested in cork, resins, guides and similar stuff. Thank you very much for your future answers.
Walker
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Re: Rodbuilding stuff Ottawa-Gatineau

Post by Walker »

There is ,to my knowledge , none in Ottawa area ,but there is HOOK,LINE AND SINKER FISHING TACKLE in Guelph and also MUDHOLE .COM.

Mark
As the fish say
"DROP ME A LINE"

Mark
zippyfx
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by zippyfx »

I ordered from Mudole and they have good products but you get an additional customs invoice when you order from them (an unplanned $20 from UPS or something IIRC). Better to order to ogdensburgh than Canada
kingofbeasts
Participant
Participant

Post by kingofbeasts »

Thank you very much guys, I have to admit that I didn't expect that :) On the other side of the Atlantic ocean you can find at least some rod building materials in the big fishing stores (they are generally used for rod repairs) while here, not even Cabela's has some (although in the US they do carry rod building stuff ).
Ordering online from US somewhere near the border is not an option for me just yet since I don't have a US travel visa for the moment but this will definitely be an option on the future .