scum frog fishing

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Jebby
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

scum frog fishing

Post by Jebby »

scum frog tips any1? just picked up a few and im new to topwater/heavy weeds any sugestions?
joco
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by joco »

HI JEBBY

scumm frog are great......donkey frog are great to...the spro one to...actualy all frogs are great,,,,,

jus trow them deep in the patchs and wait a bit( mabe 2 sec and start to retrive by guive it litle shot at the time...

by the way..................you will need a good rod for this ,whit good back bones.....and taught line to take all that weight off big bass :roll: :wink: and all that weed,,,,,,,,,,,,,i would not go under 50 pound line(ok mabe 30).........for this kind off fishing..........if you are fishing in heavy weeds..... :!:

can t wait for those scum frog reports......... :P

joco
Last edited by joco on Fri Aug 04, 2006 6:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Jigs
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

scummy frogs

Post by Jigs »

hi Jebby:

When your'e fishing slop, once the bass takes the "frog" under, don't set the hook till you feel weight on the line. To do this it's necessary to keep the line a tad straight on the retrieve as opposed to lying slack on the water. Then, what Joco said........heavier line and stiff rod.

50 lbs??? Maybe. I never have broken 30lb. P.Pro. OK, 50lb. line.

Then you have to do it a few times, lose a bunch of fish, swear, then finally, the light will come on.

It'll be the game warden shining a flashlight on ya.........kidding.

I've fished surface and slop for years, and still lose lots of fish. Old age, poor timing. You name it. It's still a fun way to fish.

Jigs.
Wallyboss
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Wallyboss »