Buying a used boat, trailer and ministry requirements

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Bass assassin
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Buying a used boat, trailer and ministry requirements

Post by Bass assassin »

Ok, so I am a rookie at this trailering thing. What does the ministry require to allow you to pull a homemade trailer? Does it have to be safetied? I know I need to get a trailer tag for it but is anything else required? How about the boat itself? Does is need to be registrered? Only insured for its value under home items? Or does it need insurance like a vehicle??
Thanks for the help.
Craig,
orrsey
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by orrsey »

Craig,
I am not too sure about the home made trailer, as for the boat you have to go to the ministry with the owership papers (reciept) all the specs. ie. make model year etc. They will then register your boat and give you a number to slap on te side of it. As for insurance you can get it insured on its own but others keep it under their home insurance as well.
Bass assassin
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by Bass assassin »

I should mentiion that this boat is a 12 ft aluminum with a 9.9hp motor. Do all boats need to be registered? I would like to know more about the trailer though. Anyone else have an idea?
Craig.
Troller
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by Troller »

Hello Craig,
I bought a 2nd hand boat last year.