Ok, so I've go fish on my sonar. Now what?

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Hookup
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Ok, so I've go fish on my sonar. Now what?

Post by Hookup »

I'm pretty new to using sonar/electronics... I'm curious about what people do when they have a fish/suspect on their electronics.... I'm talking boating, not ice-fishing...

Do you turn the boat around immediately? Break out the drop-shots?

Scenario 1) Say you've found 3-4 targets in ~15feet of water sitting at about 3-5 feet from the bottom.

Scenario 2) You've found 1-2 targets in 10 feet of water around somewhere around 2-3 feet from bottom near what looks like weeds.

How do ya'll approach this? Me, I seem to drive right by... but i'm not sure this approach is catching fish. Sure, If i found 5 or 6 targets, i'll try to throw a jig at them... (unsuccessful so far)...

Should I GPS mark the spot, coast on by, and use the foot-controll to get back to them???

Understanding your sonar is the most important first step, but I'm missing the obvious next step... How & When to attack.
Jimmy_1
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Jimmy_1 »

Interesting topic for sure!

Nothing hurts more than trolling muskies and seeing a PIG of a hook on the finder and.....and......NOTHING!
Hookup
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by Hookup »

Geos wrote:Can you narrow down the requirements.
What species? Some spook more then others
Are they suspended fish in the summer?
Is the fish finder showing pretty fishy icons or proper hooks to indicate direction.
Are there bait balls showing up anywhere?
I realize some people swear they can tell the species of a fish by the shape of the return, but i'm certainly not there yet....

Hooks show direction? I did not know that...

No bait-balls... (I've yet to identify one on my sonar)...