Where to go for Lakers in Quebec?

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
mob77
Participant
Participant

Where to go for Lakers in Quebec?

Post by mob77 »

I'm new to fishing for Lake Trout but I have a kayak and I want to get out as soon as the season opens to have a try at catching some Lake Trout. I'm specificially looking at the lakes on the Quebec side, north of the city.

The thing is I'm not sure which lakes are known as being good lakes for lake trout. I assume the bigger lakes are the ones that I should target (i.e Lac Poisson Blanc, Lac Blue Sea, 31 mile lake) but would appreciate any feedback/suggestions that you might have.

Thanks!
smitty55
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

Re: Where to go for Lakers in Quebec?

Post by smitty55 »

For a start there probably will still be ice on most of the lakes this year by April 26th so you'll have to wait a bit. My suggestion would be 31 Mile or a bit closer on Lac Pemichangan at Point Comfort. 31 Mile can get kinda rough on windy days for a kayak so be aware of wind conditions and hit the lakes real early in the day. Also be aware that this year the minimum size has now been reduced to 45cm/17.72in. Good luck with it.

Cheers
Smitty

Straight shooter
mob77
Participant
Participant

Post by mob77 »

Thanks - Appreciate the feedback smitty!

Just one question - You said that "the minimum size has now been reduced to 45cm/17.72in."

Doe this mean that you're not allowed to keep any fish that is smaller than 45cm/17.72in? You're only allowed to keep large fish (those over 45 cm)?
fishin mission
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by fishin mission »

Lakers are open in some zones in Ontario........... fish in Quebec don't speak englash! And in Ontario they bite lures and bait not Joe Louis and may west :lol: :lol: :lol:
Jimmy_1
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Jimmy_1 »