Report: In search of rainbows

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Bis4ben
Participant
Participant

Report: In search of rainbows

Post by Bis4ben »

I've hit the ice more this year than i ever have before ... It's certainly a lot more work but can be equally as rewarding. I've been in Ottawa for just over three years so i dont exactly have a honey hole yet (for any species) but have managed a lot of exploring.

In terms of weather this past Sunday (the 29th) was the kind of day on the ice that I dream about. It was sunny, warm, no real wind and hard packed snow - hell, it barely even mattered if the fish were biting! I've spent the winter targeting eyes and lakers ... but such a gorgeous day warranted something new - Rainbows!!

Two friends and I packed our gear and were on the water by 9am to embrace some sweater weather. Now i'm not experienced in targeting trout other than lakers and splake (which i target the same way) so we weren't sure about depth, or the required structure (ie on the weed beds or in the rocks ??). We started by drilling one hole each, three holes, (manually) which varied from roughly 8-18 ft of water. No luck for the first hour and half. Drilled two more holes at what we figured would be the 10-12ft range - managed to find some vegetation on the bottom which seemed promising so set up camp there and throw some tip ups in the original holes. Hour and half later still nothing. I drill two more holes and my arms are getting sore at this point. I've tried jigs of varying colour and weight with varying plastics, small spoons of varying colour, tossed down a bead head nymph over the weeds and am starting to get a little discouraged. Through all of this one of my friends hasn't moved or re-tied since he first sat down; of course he yells "FISH ON". You can tell this is a nice fish, and just as the head comes through the hole one guy gets his