Looking for Gatineau River Catfish around Kirk's Ferry

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Shivaya
Participant
Participant

Looking for Gatineau River Catfish around Kirk's Ferry

Post by Shivaya »

Hi guys!

This is my first post aside from my introduction post. I understand no one is just going to give fishing spots to a newbie, but I was hoping maybe you guys could help me with some guidelines. I have no experience with bottom fish, only with bass and pike, so any tips would be extremely appreciated.

Last weekend I went fishing on the Gatineau river, dropping off the boat in Kirk's Ferry. My girlfriend caught a small catfish, so I know there are catfish around. At this point, I want to go get that small catfish's Grandmother (and then release it).

From what I've read, worms or dead sucker minnows on a circle hook, with a 1 oz egg sinker 18" above it casted to the bottom seems to be the way to go. It would help me a lot to be patient if I knew I was casting it in a spot that has the potential to hold fish.

Being used to fishing for pike and bass, I usually look for underwater structure and try to fish its transitions. Does the same apply for catfish?

Any other tips you guys will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Nic
joco01
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Re: Looking for Gatineau River Catfish around Kirk's Ferry

Post by joco01 »

First. Were is that ferry?

Gatineau river hold so many species