Too early to talk Ice Fishing??

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Mav
Participant
Participant

Too early to talk Ice Fishing??

Post by Mav »

Hi guys,

Seeing as the nice weather is holding out, seems strange. but I still am getting pretty excited about the ice fishing season approaching!

As I am fairly new to the ice fishing scene here in Ottawa, I would like to learn from some of you who have been ice fishing the Ottawa area for many years.

I fished Cumberland area 3 years ago - loads of small walleye/sauger and one night actually had 20+ mud puppies. Never seemed to catch anything sizeable...Moved up to Marina D'aylmer two years ago and fishing seems to be slower, but bigger fish - all pike and walleye.

For me, 1st and foremost is always safety: In cumberland I fished on 16ft of ice, then the following year, the exact same spot I fished stayed as a gaping open water hole all season!! Marina D'aylmer was 2 feet thick in 2015, 16" in 2016 (Warmer season), seemed pretty safe until I was told in 2014 there was a huge open water crevice that developed right outside the marina mid-season...

I'm wondering what suggestions you have for some areas with good safe ice to fish on that I can catch some walleye are? Not expecting your hot fishing spots, just general areas. I bring my family out when I go, so I don't want to take any chances...I'd like to put a shack out on the ice as well, other than oziles on Petrie are there any other services in the area that will pull your shack out for you?

Also, TONS of shacks in baitshop bay at petrie, seems most people are catching just pike...I'd like a shot at some Walleye that I could potentially eat. Any ideas or suggestions??

Thanks so much in advance!
smitty55
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

Re: Too early to talk Ice Fishing??

Post by smitty55 »