Coordless drill/auger info

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
HotelTango
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Coordless drill/auger info

Post by HotelTango »

Gents,

Looking to see if anyone has info/experience using a drill with the auger attachment for ice fishing.
Is a hammer drill required or just a regular one ? From what I can see online you need 18V or more?

Any info would be appreciated.
Cheers
All fishermen are liars except for you and me, and to tell you the truth, I'm not sure about you.
CBB
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Re: Coordless drill/auger info

Post by CBB »

I have been using one for the last 4 or 5 yrs and love it. I have a dewalt 18v with the yellow top batterys. Only issue i have had is chuck loosens and auger drops down hole. Remedy for this issue is a stick drilled with a large hoole for auger shaft below screw on shaft to catch on hole if it drops. I know some are using the newer 20 v drills with the 3 amp batteries and also love it. I use mostly a 4 in auger but also an 8 in when needed
scarkner
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by scarkner »

I have been using drill for cutting holes for YEARS.

Good quality drill is important, hammer drill is not.
Good quality auger is important.

Here is a post I made last year:

My biggest suggestion if converting an existing auger is to put something at the top of the auger that won't allow it to fall through the ice if the auger falls off the drill.... and it will!!!

http://www.oodmag.com/community/showthr ... =ice+drill

I do a lot of holes with my drill.

I have an 8" and a 4" auger. The drill is a high quality Snap-On. I am using Nickel Metal and Nickel Cadmium batteries. (update 2016, i now have a 5" too and just bought an 8" Nils which is purposely built to be run by an electric drill, at $300 is better work damn good!)