rideau river virgin

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
kickurbass
Participant
Participant

rideau river virgin

Post by kickurbass »

hi fish hawk friends,

im going bass fishing on the rideau river at taylor park and its my first time
on that river, is there any tricks, lures suggestion,colors or anything that can help
me find and catch those green fish especially this season with the weather we have?

thanks everyone!
Bad day fishing is better then a good day at work!!
csedev
Participant
Participant

Re: rideau river virgin

Post by csedev »

Hi there,

Just got off the Rideau and had a lot of luck with live bait and a simple jig. Throw a jig on a minnow and fish near the weed line, and you'll be set for a god time.

C
------------------------------------------
Christopher Smith, Novice Fisherman
Ottawa, Ontario

Every day is a new day. It is better to be lucky.
But I would rather be exact. Then when luck comes you are ready.
toobinator
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

Post by toobinator »

For artificial lures you can't go wrong with a senko in colour 222, green with red, black and red fleck. I'll also drag tubes in the same colour although in the tubes they call it green neon. Drift along the weed edge letting the current do most of the work. You can also go tight to shore if your boat can get through the weeds and throw frogs tight to the shoreline.

Ed
Save a bass. Eat a chicken
DropShot’r
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by DropShot’r »

I fish the river somewhat regularly, but have never fished that section. 

Baits I bring to the river:

Bring a spinnerbait, we all have our favorites but I like to have a white/white spinnerbait. Double willow will work, but so does a single Colorado. Keep it light, I prefer 3/8oz. on the river.

Bring some hollow body frogs. Something light( white or yellow) and something dark(black or brown)