Ottawa River fishing

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Pike_lover
Participant
Participant

Ottawa River fishing

Post by Pike_lover »

Hi guys. I'm new to Ontario fishing and my 10 year old daughter and I love catching fish. We have fished Rideau river starting at Manotick with a hook and worm with lots of panfish success. Nothing decent size though.

We also tried the ottawa river and fishing near the island and aylmer marina for a few bass. Not much success though. We have tried casting and trolling in various depths 5 ft to 20 ft.

My daughter is doubting my skills for sure! I used to fish on the Quebec side and had no issues catching good fish. Maybe I'm too old, maybe I'm trying too hard for my daughter, maybe it's just bad luck!

I would appreciate a few pointers on decent areas to fish where we might expect a little more action for fish anywhere from aylmer/Shirley's Bay up to constance Bay would be appreciated! Also some tips on fishing techniques and basic lures would be helpful.

Interested in any fish bigger than 1 pound to give my little girl some excitement before she loses interest!

Thanks in advance!

Thanks!
smitty55
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

Re: Ottawa River fishing

Post by smitty55 »

You could try Shirleys. This late in the summer weeds will be heavy but if you go a bit deeper they won't be as bad for trolling. Could catch anything there including lots of catfish. Been a long time since I was there in a boat but used to do well trolling flatfish type baits basically along the same line that we would ice fish along where it drops from 9-15 ft straight out to the point. The further you get out you'll get into some current and once you reach the point its all rock, no weeds and more current, a good spot to try bottom bouncers and spinner rigs too. Good luck

Smitty

Straight shooter
Pike_lover
Participant
Participant