Flying walleyes

A different type of fishing that has seen rewards been reaped by many. This forum allows us to learn more about Float and Fly fishing from those who have made it their number 1 way to fish.
Flyboy
Participant
Participant

Flying walleyes

Post by Flyboy »

Waded between Hogs Back and Clareton this morning, tossing a wooly bugger hoping to only catch legal fish. Anyway got into 3 eyes quickly, so I left.

HOWEVER(!!) there were large eyes jumping the whole time, I mean like nothign I've ever seen on a river, lake, bathtub, etc. I thought eyes stuck to the bottom? I'm a rookie on that species, and I know there has been some talk on dry flies for eyes lately. Anyway just below the overpass was where these guys were jumping for something.

I'll be reseraching a good dry fly for eyes before this weekend, if anyone beats me to it hopefully they can share.
Todd B.
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Todd B. »

They've been known to hit topwater plugs so I'd suggest a pencil popper, etc if you want to target them on the surface. Otherwise I'd continue using the buggers, clousers, etc.
BASSSTALKER
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

Post by BASSSTALKER »

I fish'm topwater more times than I do with anything else :wink:
Bass assassin
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Leader

Post by Bass assassin »

Hey there, What do you use for a leader? I am new to fly fishing for species with teeth, so any help would be appreciated!! Were you wading or shore fishing? In either case, did you park at Hog's Back?
Thanks!
BA
Todd B.
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Todd B. »

Bass assassin,