using a swivel to attach a fly?

A different type of fishing that has seen rewards been reaped by many. This forum allows us to learn more about Float and Fly fishing from those who have made it their number 1 way to fish.
CRP_4321
Participant
Participant

using a swivel to attach a fly?

Post by CRP_4321 »

I'm new to fly fishing, finally started to cast well.

I use #8 rod, #7 reel (I like Bass)

I was thinking of using the smallest swivels you can buy for easy changing of my flies (Woolly Buggers Mostly). I would attach it to the tippet (3X is that good?)

I was also considering using another swivel to attach green line to the leader.

Anyone done this successfully?
Todd B.
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Todd B. »

I'll use a small crosslock snap (30lb) on my pike leaders only because the 40lb bite tippets are not much fun to tie to flies. For everything else I tie directly to the fly.

On a side note, it sounds as though you're targeting LM with an 8wt rod? If so you might be able to get away with 3X in open water. Myself I stick to 0X when I'm fishing LM.
"There wouldn't have been any butt kickings if that stupid death ray had worked."
CRP_4321
Participant
Participant

Post by CRP_4321 »

Thanks for your reply Todd B.

So it is possible but not commonly done for smaller tippets. I'll be giving it a try, see how it goes.

I have been using the 3X tippet on the Jock and Rideau River, nothing but rock bass, sunfish, and those big minnows(River Chub?)

I've seen my friend pull out a 3pd Pickerel in the same spot as me so there is definitely lots to learn still.

I'll look into the larger tippet sizes, maybe 1X since I have a few #6 flies(based on a chart I've seen).

Regards,
Chris
Todd B.
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Todd B. »

Chris,