Max rpm on 96 90hp Rude

Anything and everything related to boating, motors, and electronic equipment. Find out the answers to your questions here.
Fishing Rod
Participant
Participant

Max rpm on 96 90hp Rude

Post by Fishing Rod »

Hi All,

Trying to figure out where I should be at WOT.

Princecraft 169 Pro with a 13" x 19" aluminum prop.

Currently 36 mph on the speedo at 4600 rpm

Pulls great, just wondering if I should get more top end and if 4600 rpm is optimum.

Thanks
Rod
Mick
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Re: Max rpm on 96 90hp Rude

Post by Mick »

I'm no expert but my 115 HP merc tops out at 5700 ....4600 sound very low to me
bostonwhaler
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by bostonwhaler »

I was always under the impression that 5500-5700 was WOT rpm as well
Hollywood catches more perch than me
Fishing Rod
Participant
Participant

Post by Fishing Rod »

I figured it was low too.
lape0019
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

Post by lape0019 »

Are you trimming up at all? 4600 rpms is definitely low.

I did a bit of research and it looks like 5500-6000 is the norm provided you have a V4. Regardless, your RPMs should be over 5000. You are bogging that motor down at 4600 rpms.

If this is a new boat to you, there are a few thing you can try. What hole is the motor mounted in? If it is in the first hole on the bracket at the top, your motor may be mounted too low. Try raising it to the second hole.

If it is in the second hole, Your prop is too much for that motor.dropping to a 17p should gain you 200-400 rpm.

If you are not trimming up, start with that. My 75 will hit around 4800 before I start trimming up. I can trim it up almost all of the way to 5800 before she will blow out. My max rpm is 5500 so I don't go any higher than that.

If you can provide more info regarding these items, we may be able to help you out a bit more.
Fishing Rod
Participant
Participant

Post by Fishing Rod »