My First Muskie!!!!!

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Kpin
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

My First Muskie!!!!!

Post by Kpin »

Headed out on the Ottawa with MuskyMatt, bright and early Fathers Day. A simply amazing day that made us think about how great it is being on the water, soaking in the sun, the joys of how the warm weather brings out the elusive bikini clad beauties and OF course fishing!

Being a muskie newbie, I really learned quite a bit. We casted, trolled and Matt hit the first fish of the day, a spunky pike. Shortly thereafter, on the troll, the reel starts screaming. At first I thought I was snagged but as soon as we released the rod, the headshakes told another story. The adrenaline starts pumping, (you all know the feeling). Nice, solid headshakes and I'm thinking, "this doesn't feel like a pike." Now, not having ever caught a muskie, I wasn't sure just how one fought. Either way I knew something decent was on the line.

After a decent battle, she was brought in. My very first muskie! 36" and quite a decent girth for the length. I'm not quite sure but I think I might have giggled like a schoolgirl. High fives all around and she was released to be caught another day. I think I'm still smiling from the catch. :D

We boated a few other pike, (by Matt) but that was the only muskie of the day and man, did it feel good! It was one of the species I haven't caught that I wanted to nail this year and thanks to Matt, it became a reality. He was as happy getting me into my first muskie as I was catching one.

Had a simply amazing time. I can now understand how you muskie guys get addicted. Great company, great weather, (ok, REALLY freaking hot, melting weather) but great fishing. What more can a man ask for?