Walleye on artificial bait ?

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
fish4ever
Participant
Participant

Walleye on artificial bait ?

Post by fish4ever »

Hey folks,
While I'm a rookie firsherman, I've hooked up into many species ( Bass, pike, perch, sun,...etc) but I have yet to hook into a walleye. There is an ottawa river shoreline spot which I got to which has walleyes, my friends get them up with live minnows. I mainly fish with artificial bait, I tried bucktails, grubs, fake minnows, nothing seems to work or so I think. I don't throw spinnerbaits at all. Is there ,a proven bait that you folks can kindly share, or could it be the fisherman skills that need polishing ?

Thanks in advance,
Leechman
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by Leechman »

Don't know if it's a proven lure but try medium size white or chartreuse Big 'O'. Works for me when going to Lac Poisson Blanc and casting for eyes.

The other one would be a silver / blue Thunderstick. My brother in law uses that one all the time a catches them.

Good luck on your hunt for eyes.

Fish Finder
Wallyboss
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Wallyboss »

Multiple crankbaits like the wallydiver by Cotton Cordell, or husky jerk by Rapala and deep husky Jerk. I like casting the Mann's 20+ also But you need to know the depth. A walleye will pick up plastic grubs but it will be a subtle bite and if you are not quick you'll miss it. But you can also try the new Gulp Alive by Berkley.
Last edited by Wallyboss on Mon May 26, 2008 5:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
GrandRiverReaper
Participant
Participant

Post by GrandRiverReaper »

Interesting post.