black donald lake

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
sledhead
Participant
Participant

black donald lake

Post by sledhead »

hi all
i am probably your newest member and have to say you guys have a great site here! just read some old posts regarding black donald lake and find myself in the same situation as every year, family vacation first, fishing second! going up to white pines resort first week of aug and will probably keep the wife and kids entertained during the day - tubing, cruising - and fish in the evening. a question i have is regarding cruising the lake - are there many hazards or is it decently navigable? i'm a complete newby to the area and any insight or info appreciated.
Jasonb
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by Jasonb »

was out there once for a week.... had a canoe to fish out of... that lake can be very tricky, take note of the islands you pass... it can seem like an endless maze of islands... a good thing to do would be to buy a map of the lake... it can be very confusing... but big pike wander those waters along with some nice bass

JaY
Todd B.
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Todd B. »

Though I've never fished it, I've driven past it a number of times. Black Donald L. is an artificial lake created when the dam was built. As such most of the back bays are floaded stands of tree trunks and dead heads. Depending on the the water levels the stumps can be visible or just under water. Best to keep a watchful eye when navigating the shallower water.
Joe28
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by Joe28 »

For sure their are some hazards but if you stay in the centre it's ok... big pike for sure! I caught a nice 20 or so lbs there! Nice! It can be kind of confusing to I suppose... but not to bad. For sure its worth going there...
DropShotr
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

Post by DropShotr »