New to the sport

A different type of fishing that has seen rewards been reaped by many. This forum allows us to learn more about Float and Fly fishing from those who have made it their number 1 way to fish.
JimmyBuffett
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

New to the sport

Post by JimmyBuffett »

Hey Guys,

I'm a fishing nut that has decided to extend my fishing knowledge to the awesome sport of fly fishing, Just bought a a rod & reel( cheap one ) to start with, and some cheapie flies(don't know if they'll work or even what the patterns are?) I'd like to learn alot from you experienced lads, I'm off work tomorrow and I'm gonna head to the Bogie(might be a lost cause) KNow lots of lakes and have a 12ft boat which I will mount the electric on for minimal spooking, so If anyone is up for a tour and would like to arrange something let me know!

Cheers,

Rich
Mike Lennox
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by Mike Lennox »

hey monsterhunter,
I have been flyfishing for 5 years, so if you need any help just pm me.
For lakes this time of year, you will want some minnow immatations.
My favorite is a black and white clouser minnow, but zonkers and matutkas will also work very well.
You will always want a few wooly buggers and gold ribbed hares ear nymphs too.
Remember, you dont only have to fly fish for trout. In the spring with chartreuse and white clouser minnows you can catch a few pike, and crappie, and in the summer, bring a popper or slider to a bed of lillies and you will have a blast!
good luck, dont get frustrated at first......it takes a while to get the hang of,
mike
Todd B.
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Todd B. »

Monsterhunter,

Unless you're using a type 4 sinking line you'd be better off using regular gear up on the Bogie lakes. A friend was up there last week and said that they were marking the trout on the fish finder about 40' down (near the thermalcline). You won't see them back up in shallow water until the lakes turn over.