Recommend An Easy Fly to Tie - Anyone?

A different type of fishing that has seen rewards been reaped by many. This forum allows us to learn more about Float and Fly fishing from those who have made it their number 1 way to fish.
GrandRiverReaper
Participant
Participant

Recommend An Easy Fly to Tie - Anyone?

Post by GrandRiverReaper »

Hello Brothers of the Fly,

I'm just getting into tying my own flies and do not wish to waste a lot of material getting "good" at tying. So I'm here to see if anyone can recommend an easy fly to start off with or link me to a good online resource for fly tying.

keep it reel,

GRR
troutnmuskiehunter
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by troutnmuskiehunter »

Here is a great link that shows step-by-step procedures with pictures. The link will go directly to the page for tying a Muddler...one of my favourites for Rainbows and Specks........enjoy!!

Steve

http://www.akflyfishers.com/fom_muddler_minnow.html
Todd B.
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Todd B. »

GGR,

Below are a number of links you can check out. Keep in mind that fly tying is all about mastering the various techniques used with each particular material, etc. The two most commonly tied beginner flies would have to be the woollybugger and a Pheasant Tail Nymph (PTN).

What you tie though should be based on what you're fishing for.

Cheers,
Todd

Fly Anglers Online - check out the "Beginner's" tying section.

http://www.hipwader.com/flyfishing/orei ... ng-course/
Todd B.
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Todd B. »

GRR,

If you're going to get seriously into tying I would highly recommend picking up a copy of The Fly Tier's Benchside Reference by Ted Leeson. It illustrates almost every tying technique using step by step photos as well as descriptive text.
uberfish
Participant
Participant

Post by uberfish »

Hey GRR,
http://www.about-flyfishing.com/library ... iskers.htm